Homeward Bound

I ended up spending several more weeks in rehab getting stronger and more independent until they were comfortable that I was strong enough to function on my own. My last few weeks were filled with hard work and memorable times that I will not soon forget.

I had hoped to progress enough to be released before April 15. That was my personal motivation. I heard a rumor that I might get sent home early, but alas, I still had to wait for my designated time.

The day I was discharged was so surreal to me. I had been in the hospital for what seemed like forever and it had very much become a comfort zone and routine, so when it came time to go home, I had mixed feelings. For one thing, I knew it would be a big adjustment for me.

I arrived home in the early afternoon on April 15, 2015. After being in the hospital for nearly a month I was home. It felt so weird not having anything scheduled or having anyone tending to me or supervising me every so often. The first couple days were the hardest adjustment by far. It felt as if all I did was to just sit there trying to figure out what to do. You have to remember that for a month I didn’t participate in many things the world would consider “normal,” so being home was as if I was having to assimilate myself back into life (and I still am).

To me, many things like Facebook just seem meaningless. People’s posts complaining about the simplest things just carried no meaning to me. I had gained a new perspective on life. Being at the doors of death will certainly cause anyone to think differently.

2 Corinthians 4:17 -“For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!  NLT

One thought on “Homeward Bound

  1. I feel your words Bryan. I am not sure if you remember from our meeting on DeviantArt, that I survived a stroke at 31. I can understand your feelings of things being so unimportant or peoples complaints so mundane or trivial. When you face deaths door, you come back changed. To say the least. I pray full recovery for you. And strength, to always move forward in life…because this CHANGES you. And though I am certain God was my savior in everything I have endured over the years since my stroke…I have had that feeling of, wow…this world I live in, has no idea….and it has brought me challenges and growth in ways I never would have been blessed with, without the stroke. I do not regret. I thankfully, move forward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

