Training Day

Jenna
                    Jenna working with me 

The next day, they woke me up around 7:30 for breakfast. Then before I knew it, I had people from Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Speech Therapy all coming in and introducing themselves and letting me know what time they would be seeing me. I was a little nervous but excited at the same time to get started and see what I could do.

First up was PT. Julie was a good challenge for me and pushed me. I’ll never forget the many basic things she taught me on that first day and how she pushed me with her firm yet gentle voice. Most of what we did was very basic, but for me that was a good measurement of what I could do and where I wanted to be.

My next appointment was with Jenna from OT.  I would have Jenna for most of my visits until I left. We did some basics assessments of what I could do and couldn’t do, what my home safety looked like and how to get me the most independent within safety.We finished by massaging my hand and fitting me for a glove that would help take the swelling down (My hand was a little swollen from the stroke).

Last, but not least, I met with Speech Therapy. They didn’t necessarily think I needed Speech Therapy but still wanted to do a basic evaluation. They had me recite a list of words and do a few basic tests. They concluded that my speech was fine and thought some of my cheek muscles were weak, but I didn’t need treatment.

All my appointments that day concluded around 2 pm. I spent the rest of the day visiting with the folks and relaxing. It was a challenging day, but good to finally be doing something instead of being confined to a bed or chair.

As the day concluded, and I got ready for bed, I received a shot to my stomach to help prevent blood clots. I learned later that I would be getting one every day until I left. Luckily, it didn’t hurt too badly, especially when they gave it to me on my right side 😉 since my right side was still numb from the stroke.

Leave a Reply

