Results & Transfer

The next day, I was evaluated by a team of physical therapists. After talking to one of them, I was surprised to learn he knew my Dad through his military connections. What a small world! He was already the second person who knew my dad. The evaluation went well, but I could tell I was very weak on my right side and that rehabbing would take some work. Once they helped me figure out how to transfer to a wheelchair and sit up, I tried to stay up as much as I could. It was better than being in bed all day! I had several other evaluations that day. One for my heart and one for taking blood samples. The gal taking the samples seemed sweet, but we could only communicate with our eyes because she was completely deaf. It was really neat seeing her working there, overcoming her own challenges. Boy did she take a lot of blood though! Six tubes!0325151502-00

Results from the CT and MRI scans came back later that afternoon. The doctors read the results and showed us the scans; the verdict was that I indeed had suffered from a mild stroke. Because of the radiation treatments I had endured nearly 24 years ago, some of the arteries in my brain never fully developed. Instead of being thick and flexible, some were narrow with webby walls, making them more susceptible to clots. A blood platelet caused the clot. It passed, but not before inflicting the damage that caused my stroke.

That night was much better for sleep! Sleeping in acute care was still difficult, but once they knew I was stable, they let me sleep for the most part

2 Corinthians 4:16-18-“Therefore we do not give up. Even though our outer person is being destroyed, our inner person is being renewed day by day. For our momentary light affliction is producing for us an absolutely incomparable eternal weight of glory. So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

One thought on “Results & Transfer

Leave a Reply

