Scan away, but let me sleep!

Resuming our story 🙂 ……

Only moments after being wheeled back to my room, I was told they wanted to conduct another MRI, with contrast, to zero in on a section that had stood out to them. It only took about 10 minutes, and it was super quick, unlike the CT scan.

When I was finished, I had completed a total of 3 scans that day (2 MRI’s and one long CT scan).

Since they were done later in the day, we had to wait until the following afternoon to hear the results. What a day it had been! Once we were back in my room, I must have dozed off because when I awoke, Mom had gone home, and it was early in the evening.

One of the evening nurses came in and introduced himself. He said, “So you suffered from a stroke?” This caught me by surprise, and I was again immediately in denial. I thought, “There is no way! I’m too young, right?” As I continued to talk to him, I learned he recognized my Dad’s name, and he had met him through the Navigators. He also knew my grandparents’ names.

I was not prepared for another restless night in the acute center. Every 2 hours, nurses came in to check my vitals. They asked me if I knew where I was, to describe a picture, and to recite a series of words. On top of that, my roommate needed tending to regularly, and he was setting off his bed alarm. It was nearly impossible to sleep! As soon as I fell asleep, the nurses were back for more. I thought, “I know you are just doing your job, and you’re nice people, but pleaassee…I am ok…just let me sleep!”

One thought on “Scan away, but let me sleep!

Leave a Reply

